Awards Login
Forgotten password
Enter the email address you registered with below.
Awards Timetable

Strong industry rallying and a new injection of funds from the Commonwealth Government saw the IDCA reopen later that same year and a new innovation recognition program was introduced to run alongside the Prince Philip Prize.

Recognising not only high quality but innovative Australian designed products, the Australian Design Award (ADA) program became a valuable promotional tool for manufacturers and designers, and provided a source of revenue for the IDCA to continue its operations. The Prince Philip Prize continued to be awarded, but only to products which had received the ADA.

During this time, publicity was at an all time high. Televised coverage of the Awards presentation on ABC TV reached audiences of over 4 million and in 1979, the first annual yearbook of ADA winners was published.

For the next two decades, however, continuing funding issues, dwindling industry support and a lack of clear direction plagued the IDCA. In 1987, in an effort to reinvigorate the movement, the Government re-launched the IDCA as the Australian Design Council and the Prince Philip Prize was replaced by the Australian Design Award as Australia's most prestigious design accolade.
1976 image01